First Post

Whether I shall turn out to be the hero of my own life, or whether that station will be held by anybody else, these pages must show.

David Copperfield

Unsure of how to start this blog, and all-too aware of my inability to do so adequately, I’ve decided to purloin someone else wholesale.

I don’t suppose the above quotation, the opening line from Charles Dicken‘s David Copperfield will hold any special significance for this blog. It merely stood out for me from a Google search of ‘opening lines from novels’ (and I rather like the idea of turning out to be the hero of my own life.)

This blog is intended largely for my benefit. I doubt there will be much coherence to it. It will merely allow me to get my thoughts down. This should help me straighten out these thoughts, learn to express myself clearly and may have a therapeutic benefit. Better to have my thoughts out on a page, rather than bumping around in my head, keeping me up at night.

“Why do this on so public a platform as a blog?”, I hear you ask. “Why not keep a private diary?” Well, I reply, I’m of the facebook generation, I have no conception of privacy. Even if I had, Western governments seem to want to erase it, and no doubt some goon from the NSA or M15 will be poring over this, endeavouring to ascertain terrorist intent.

Night.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

