Random Thoughts for the Day

It sometimes happens that you read or hear something that makes you do a mental double-take. A thought or fact that penetrates the cerebellum with unusual force. I feel it may be a good idea for me to put them up on here, for future reference. They may interest you, potential reader, or they may not. No matter, it’s my name up on the top of the page, and what I say goes. This blog is a dictatorship, not a democracy.

The thing that caught my attention hit me while reading James Surowiecki’s The Wisdom of Crowds.

The_Wisdom_of_Crowds

He wonders, why do cinemas charge the same price for a film that’s been out for a few weeks as they do for the latest release? Or for that matter, the same for a good film as a rotten tomato? We think it quite normal for a retailer to cut price of older stock in order to get it off the shelves. Or to charge a lower price on lower quality goods.

It’s probably not that interesting (or of much consequence), but it just struck me as odd that basic economic rules seem suspended once you enter a cinema.

P.S. What really struck me (and annoyed me) is I hadn’t noticed it before. I read more than your average person, but there isn’t enough time to learn everything through reading. More important is thinking about the world in the right way and asking the right questions.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

