Inspect A Gadget

My family got a new Apple iPad Mini today. It’s really cool. When I was a kid, one of my favourite TV programs was the cartoon, Inspector Gadget. His sidekick, Penny, had a computerised book, which I always wanted:

Penny's Book in Inspector Gadget

We haven’t, and may not, get to the stage where we have wafer thin computers, like pages in a book, although there is plenty of research into wearable computers (like Penny’s computer wristwatch) and plastic ones, even ones in our glasses.

We also have an Amazon Kindle Fire. I read A LOT and should be fairly tempted by e-readers – but I still love the touch, and dare I say it, the smell of books. As another of the greatest Englishmen who never lived, the librarian and Watcher Giles from Buffy The Vampire Slayer, said:

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

